Buttons Shines In Warracknabeal Cup

Darren Weir added another major country cup to his scalp when Shiny Buttons romped home with the $30,000 Warracknabeal Cup. Perfectly ridden by Dean Yendall, Shiny Buttons followed on from his win a fortnight earlier in the Heywood Cup at Casterton. A half brother to the Wangoom Handicap and Golden Topaz winner Uxorious, Shiny Buttons was travelling like a winner a long way out at Warracknabeal and won with plenty in reserve. The win proved significant for part owners Kevin Maginness and David Clarke, who both spent a number of years living in the Wimmera town. It was doubly exciting for Clarke, who spent time working for the race sponsor Dennis O’Connor, as he was a co-breeder of the Reset five-year-old. His win was the third leg of a four peat for the stable. It began with debutant Trustam proving too strong in the first race of the day. The two-year-old daughter of Stratum gave a number of first time owners an ideal start to racehorse ownership. Lovasova proved too strong in the Maiden over 1600m then King Buddy gave Weir and jockey Dean Yendall a quartet of winners when proving too strong in the Rating 68 over 1000m. The combination pick up from where they left off the following day at Echuca when the former Queenslander Current Affair, opened her Victorian account in a 1100m Rating 62. ‘Weiry’ then joined forces with Brad Rawiller to guide exciting three-year-old colt El Divine to victory in the 3YO Rating 68 over 1200m. The win gave the Ballarat trainer 8 winners in three days following his ‘jumps double’ at Warrnambool on Saturday.

Latest News Stories

News Archive

Kings Will Dream Highlights a Saturday Treble

European import Kings Will Dream (above) has kept his outstanding first Australian campaign intact when he made it three from three with yet another u...

Read More

Tasmanian Derby Quinella

The stands erupted down in Hobart on Friday evening as a big group of Civil Disobedience’s owners followed him across the Bass Strait to Tasmania and ...

Read More

Cliff Edges Them Out

Cliff’s Edge began his Autumn charge in winning fashion with a terrific first-up performance that saw him secure the $150,000 Group 3 Manfred Stakes a...

Read More