赛后生涯

 

李·珀彻思的故事

在过去的10年间,李·珀彻思(Lee Purchase)一直都是达伦·维尔在巴拉瑞特附近玛纳斯瑞斯特(Miners Rest)区森林马场团队的一员。这些年来,这里从一个只有50匹马的马厩发展成为今天这个一流的训练基地。

 

她的职业生涯涉及马术行业的多个领域;期间也在业界广交朋友。几年后,她通过这些关系为一些没有能够成为赛马的纯种马,或者结束了其比赛生涯的赛马,找到了归宿,故事就从这开始了。

 

"许多马都由马主团所有,不是所有的马都会有运气遇上能够在其退役后还收留它们的主人。有些马主有自己的农场,或是想好了可以收留马匹的人,它们可能为马安排一个退役后的归宿。"李解释说。

 

达伦在森林马场单独设立了一个5英亩的围场,刚刚退役的马能够在这里继续接受马场员工的照料,直到找到合适的家为止。李提到这项工作得到了"来自维多利亚赛马协会(Racing Victoria )赛马退役(Off the Track )项目詹姆斯·匝非瑞思(James Tzaferis 卡拉·卡瓦纳(Cara Kavanagh 的大力支持和帮助。他们乐于接受各种建议,在宣传接纳纯种马的新主人方面做了很多工作。"

 

"不是每一个想要马的人都有能力照料退役的纯种马。这些马不仅需要喂养,还需要接受重新训练,加上蹄铁匠和其它开支。我总是竭尽全力来确保领养马的人有能力照料它们,并为它们提供应得的具有爱心的家园。"李解释说。

 

李在达伦维尔公司的主要职责是喂养以及带马参加比赛,通过这些与马在一起的时间来了解每匹马。如果李觉得在给马重新安排归宿之前对它们还不够了解,她会向马道骑手和其它马厩工人询问这些马的个性,从而了解它们需要什么样的家。

 

退役后,这些马也不闲着,有的参加一日马术三项赛,有的成为育种母马,有的在周末供人骑行,有的成为障碍赛马,还有的在牧场接收应得的关爱悠然老去,有的在农场工作,甚至还有一匹加入了残疾人骑马协会(Riding for the Disabled,简称RDA)为残疾人服务。

 

多年来,虽然李为众多的马找到了新家,但是她一直忍着这种诱惑没有自己带走一匹退役赛马,而以培育和展示舍徳兰矮马为业余爱好并乐在其中。 直到有一匹马的出现改变了她的想法"在我看见警察公报(马厩中俗名麻烦)的那一刻起,我就爱上了他!"她兴奋地说道。4年中,李看着他进马厩训练修整,外出参赛,并牵着他参加了大多数比赛,退役后李照看他并给他放了12个月的假期,才把他训练成了一匹猎人障碍赛马术马。

 

在李的辛勤努力下,众多的退役赛马重新找到了归宿,让无数批曾近接受达伦维尔训练的赛马加入了多种多样的马术运动,在新的职业生涯中享受其‘退休生活’。

 

 
 
 

赛后生涯档案

Profit Share

I can only say that if anyone had told me that at the age of 58 I would be the owner and riding a 6 year old off the track racehorse, I would have nev...

继续看

"行色匆匆"

"行色匆匆"(So Hasty)享受着马球马的生活。

继续看

"阿奇巴"

记得在开车上班的路上,我一直想着这匹李在广告上登出的马。我想时不我待,于是把车停在路边给李打了电话。我真的很庆幸我做出了这个决定,因为我找到了我最好的朋友,和一匹非常特别的马。"阿奇巴"(Archibar)在其赛马生涯中参加了很多比赛。所以当我领到他时,就先让他放松了一段时间,适应新的生活。整个培训...

继续看

Life After Racing 

 

About Lee Purchase

Lee Purchase has spent the past 10 years working as part of Darren Weir’s team at Forest Lodge in Miners Rest near Ballarat. During this time the stable has grown from a 50 horse stable into the record breaking stable it is today.

 

She has spent her life involved in many Equestrian pursuits; along with this Lee has gathered a wide range of fellow equestrian friends and acquaintances. A few years after she started she used some of these contacts to rehome some Thoroughbreds who simply didn’t make the cut as racehorses, or had come to the end of their racing careers, and so it began.

 

“As a lot of horses are owned by syndicates, but not every horse is lucky enough to have owners who are in a position to take the horses once they have been retired. Some owners who have their own property, or people they have in mind, may have organised a home for the horse once they are retired.” Lee explained.

Darren set aside a 5 acre paddock on the Forest Lodge property where the newly retired horses go and continue to be cared for by the Weir staff until a suitable home can be found. Lee acknowledged “James Tzaferis and Cara Kavanagh from the Off the Track program at Racing Victoria have been a great help and very supportive. They have been very open to suggestions and are doing great work in promoting the new careers of Thoroughbred horses.”

 

“Not everyone who wants to get a horse will be able to manage an off the track Thoroughbred. These horses need re-educating as well as feeding, plus farrier and other costs. I always try and make sure the person who gets the horse will be able to look after the horse and give the horse the caring home they deserve.” Lee explained

 

Lee’s main roles at Darren Weirs include feeding and taking the horses to the races, this gives Lee personal time with the horses so she can get to know them. If Lee feels she does not know them well enough before rehoming them she will ask the track work riders and other stable hands more about the horses personality so she can gain the best understanding of what home the horse may require.

 

These horses have gone on to do many things, from One Day Eventing to Broodmares, weekend hacks to Show jumpers, some are just retired and growing old in a paddock with the love they deserve whilst others are out working on farm and there is even one that went on to do Riding for the Disabled (RDA).

 

Although Lee has re-homed so many horses through the years, she resisted the temptation to take on one of the retiring horses herself, instead she enjoys the breeding and showing of Shetland ponies as a hobby. That was until one horse in particular came into the stable “From the minute I met Police Gazette (known in the stables as Trouble) I loved him!” she exclaimed. Lee spent 4 years watching him come in and out of the stables, strapping him in most of his starts before finally he was retired and handed over to Lee where she has given him over 12months off before working him up to show as a Hunter Hack.

 

Thanks to the great re-homing efforts of Lee, every weekend there are countless ex-Darren Weir trained horses taking part in a variety of equestrian pursuit’s enjoying their ‘retirement’ in a new found career.

 

To contact Lee about purchasing a horse please call 0400 506 234

 

 
 
 

Life After Racing Archive

So Hasty

So Hasty enjoying her life as a polo horse

Read More

Archibar

I remember driving to work and I couldn't stop thinking about this horse that Lee had advertised on her page . So I thought no time like the better so...

Read More

Ruadhan

This is our journey In 2011, my family bought our first thoroughbred, Lee Purchase assured us he had a perfect temperament. As myself being 11 and my ...

Read More